Martin Meuli is an internationally renowned surgeon and researcher, especially in the field of neonatal and fetal surgery. Since 2003 he has been Director of the Department of Pediatric Surgery of University Children’s Hospital Zurich.

 

After completing his medical degree in Zurich in 1981, Prof. Meuli undertook basic training in anesthesiology, general surgery, and urology between 1982 and 1986. Between 1987 and 1992 he trained in pediatric surgery at University Children’s Hospital Zurich under Prof. Stauffer and in 1990 he was granted FMH certification in that specialty. Between 1993 and 1995 he held a research fellowship under Profs. Harrison and Adzick at what was then the world’s only center for fetal surgery, the Fetal Treatment Center of the UCSF (University of California San Francisco) Medical Center.

He was awarded a Habilitation by the University of Zurich in 1996 on the basis of a dissertation on fetal surgery for spina bifida (myelomeningocele), a subject that forms a major focus of his research work. Following a number of groundbreaking publications by him in this field, fetal surgery for spina bifida has now been introduced into human medical practice. The year 2010 saw the first fetal operation for spina bifida to be performed in Switzerland. As well as being a member of a large number of national and international professional associations, Prof. Meuli is widely active as associate editor of and reviewer for a number of prestigious scientific journals. In addition, he is a past president and a present board member of the Swiss Society of Pediatric Surgery and a delegate to the World Federation of Associations of Pediatric Surgeons.

Prof. Dr. med. Martin Meuli

Prof. Martin Meuli, MD

FMH-certified pediatric surgeon specializing in neonatal and fetal surgery

 

Director, Department of Pediatric Surgery, University Children’s Hospital Zurich
Codirector, Center for Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy

Martin Meuli ist ein international anerkannter Arzt und Forscher, unter anderem auf dem Gebiet der neonatalen und fetalen Chirurgie. Er leitet seit 2003 die Kinderchirurgische Klinik am Universitäts-Kinderspitals Zürich.

 

Nach Abschluss des Medizinstudiums in Zürich 1981 Absolvieren einer Basisausbildung in Anästhesie, Allgemeiner Chirurgie und Urologie (1982–1986). Zwischen 1987 und 1992 Weiterbildung zum Facharzt Kinderchirurgie FMH (1990 Prof. Stauffer) am Universitäts-Kinderspital Zürich. 1993–1995 Research Fellow am damals weltweit einzigen Zentrum für Fetale Chirurgie, dem Fetal Treatment Center University of California, San Francisco Medical Center (Proffs. Harrison und Adzick). Habilitation an der Universität Zürich (1996) über das Thema fetale Chirurgie bei Spina bifida.

So widmet sich ein bedeutsamer Teil seiner Forschungstätigkeit dem Thema fetale Chirurgie bei Spina bifida (Myelomeningocele). Zahlreiche bahnbrechende Publikationen auf diesem Gebiet haben dazu geführt, dass die fetale Chirurgie bei Spina bifida bei menschlichen Patienten klinisch eingeführt wurde. Im Jahr 2010 erstmaliges Durchführen einer fetalen Operation bei Spina bifida in der Schweiz. Prof. Meuli ist Mitglied zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Fachgesellschaften, zudem breite Tätigkeit als Mitherausgeber bzw. Reviewer bei angesehenen wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften. Prof. Meuli ist ausserdem Pastpräsident und Vorstandsmitglied der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Kinderchirurgie sowie Delegierter bei der World Federation of Associations of Pediatric Surgeons.

Prof. Dr. med. Martin Meuli

Prof. Dr. med. Martin Meuli

Facharzt für Kinderchirurgie FMH

Schwerpunkt Neonatale Chirurgie und Fetale Chirurgie FMH

 

Klinikdirektor Klinik für Kinderchirurgie, Universitäts-Kinderspital Zürich
Kodirektor Zentrum für fetale Diagnostik und Therapie